Baby Afghans, 2014

Last year, SO many of my friends had babies.  Although a few acquaintances also had kids last year, I was on the hook for 4 craft projects.  3 of them were crocheted blankets.  When I went to make this post, I realized that I’m terrible about keeping good records.  But I wanted to post the blankets anyway with as close an approximation to how I made them as possible, if only to show people that anything you like you can make with enough rejiggering and co-opting of patterns.  I think they’re pretty cute, if I do say so myself!

Afghan #1: The Endor Harlequin

IMG_20150125_111500

first on the docket was baby Stormageddon.  His parents decided on an Endor theme for his nursery.  I wanted to give him something that would match the theme, but not be a Star Wars blanket per-se.  Longevity for the win.  So, I picked forest colors.

I was inspired by this Harlequin blanket by Coco Rose: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/63120832253325616/  But there was no pattern on her site, and I had a heck of a time finding one.  I finally settled on using this free Diamond Blanket pattern on Ravelry, but stitching the diamonds together like Coco Rose did, not in the box pattern suggested by the pattern maker:  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/diamond-blanket-4.  I put the diamonds together using a single crochet stitch, and made sure the pattern was random but well distributed.

All yarns are from Lion Brand, Vanna’s Choice.  She has a TON of colors, the yarn is inexpensive, and it’s all washable in case there is a throw up or poo situation.  You have to plan for these things with babies…

Afghan #2: the Gender Neutral Stripe

IMG_20150125_111311

My cousin was expecting her third, but had decided not to find out if Baby was a boy or a girl until birth.  That meant some hard choices in blanket world.  I sort of hate the green/yellow combo that seems to be the standard for non-gendered things.  And I fell in love with this blanket:  http://www.pinterest.com/pin/256283035021011817/.  I decided to make it in white and gray, with a bright middle stripe in green, yellow, and coral (which would read orange for boy and pink for girl, I hoped).  Yarn is Caron Simply Soft, and I would SERIOUSLY recommend buying enough yarn the first time around.  I ran out of gray and had a heck of  a time matching the color.

I didn’t work with a pattern for this one.  I chained an odd number of stitches for how wide I thought the blanket should be.  Then, for rows 1 and 2, I double crocheted across in white and bound off.  Next, I picked a bright color.  I repeated a double crochet, chain one, pattern across row 3, ending with a double crochet in the last stitch (hence the odd number of chains starting out.)  Then, I bound off and did another 2 rows of white.  For rows 6-10, I used the gray yarn instead of white, and I kept going until it looked like it was big enough.

For the border, I went around all the edges with a double crochet in white twice.  Then I used this awesome Praying With My Feet tutorial to make the scalloped edge.  http://prayingwithmyfeet.blogspot.mx/2011/05/crocheted-scalloped-border.html  Which I almost left off, for fear it would be too girly.  Baby is a girl, though, so I’m glad I left it on after all.

Thanks a billion to my cousin for sending the photo.  I said I was a terrible record keeper…

Afghan #3: the Not So Girly Hexagon Extravaganza

IMG_20140619_070215 (1)

I don’t have a real picture of this blanket.  I was in such a rush to finish it, that I just wrapped it up and ran without taking the time to find the camera.  I do have the pictures above, though, and you can kind of see how it would have made up.  It was beautiful when finished, and I secretly wanted to keep it for the back of my own couch…  If only it hadn’t been baby sized.

I made it for good friend of my husband’s, who was expecting a baby girl with her wife.  I knew they were trying to go the non-gender conforming route, so that meant unexpected color choice as well.  I totally fell in love with this blanket at Dover and Madden: http://doverandmadden.blogspot.com.au/2013/08/ta-dah.html.  But again, no pattern!

I searched high and low, and finally came across this one from Attic 24.  http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/2008/11/hexagon-crochet.html. The hexes look almost identical in pattern to the other.  I’m afraid I also kept really terrible records about which yarn I used.  I basically roamed the aisles of the giant Jo Ann with the Dover and Madden picture and matched as best I could.  I do remember that everything I picked was washable, though.  I made sure when making them up that I had an even distribution of colors, and that no hex had exactly the same color pattern.

I stitched the hexes together in the round, so it basically made one gigantic hex when done.  I used this Grumpy Girl method to connect them: http://grumpygirl.blogs.com/home/2007/08/tutorial-the-am.html.  It made a nice, flat stitch.  I was pleased with the outcome.

I think the reason I kept such poor record on this one was because it was a beast to make.  So many fiddly parts, and it took FOREVER.  Never again.  But Baby and company really, really love it, so it was all worth the trouble.

I hope you get inspired to make some afghans of your own!

Leave a comment